September 11, 2001

September 11, 2001

On this day, 10 years ago, I was sitting on my couch. It was around 9:30 and Joe was ironing his clothes in the living room. Neither one of us needed to be at school or work yet, and it all seemed calm. Oddly enough, the tv was off. I got a phone call from my friend Rachel. I couldn’t understand what she was talking about, it kept thinking she meant something economic had happened, “The World Trade Center has collapsed.” 

I can honestly say, that for at least the past nine years, I have avoided the images and archive news footage from that day. But, on the 10 year anniversary, it only feels right to me to go back and remember; to rewatch those stories and reexamine my memory. Oddly enough, I had forgotten I wrote in my journal about that day. I didn’t remember until I read another blogger’s post of something she wrote down that day.

I don’t feel I have any poignant words. Anyone over the age of 15 probably has their own recollection and experience of that day. But 10 years later, I try not only to remember loss, but also life, all the things that give us hope and keep us going.

Here are my own 21 year old thoughts, written on September 12, 2001:

Yesterday, 4 American airplanes were hijacked & used as terroristic weapons. 2 crashed into the World Trade Center towers, causing their eventual collapse. One crashed into the Pentagon and one went down in a field in PA, most likely intended for the White House. It was a very devestating [sic] and shocking day. Rachel called me upset and I had no idea what she was talking about. I had this perpetual lump in my throat yesterday. Sad for all the innocent people who died or who are still trapped. Scared, for what was to happen next. Yesterday, they stopped all flights, but there was this feeling of what might happen next. The images were horrific and surreal, like it was a movie…a very real one. I’ve been glued to the tv, trying to absorb any info.

People have said some ignorant things. I feel worried for Arab-Americans who might suffer backlash for something they had nothing to do with. I think our whole country feels vulnerable. It’s all very scary and sad. I pray for those who suffer lost [sic] & for our country.

One thought on “September 11, 2001

  1. I think that pivotal day was a catalyst for me and changed the trajectory of my life. I thought, if this doesn’t illustrate the finality of death and that you must “seize the day” you are given, not just today but everyday, then I don’t know what does!?! It became clearer to me that life can be taken away so swiftly without warning. I was also glued to the television and actually didn’t realize I would be late for work bc I couldn’t tear myself away from the horrific images being strewn across the television. Frankly, I couldn’t have cared less. All that came to mind is who do I know that could be affected and how can I reach them. In truth, I had been estranged from a friend and called her bc she worked in a federal building and I too, like your friend R, found myself relaying the news rather cryptically. I remember saying, “I don’t even remember why we’re mad at eachother but I don’t care and I just wanted to make sure you’re okay!” I’m glad that I reconciled with my friend but yes, I agree, so sad that others weren’t given the chance because they were taken away so viciously and without warning. 😦

Leave a Reply

