The Party is Over

The Party is Over

-sigh- Spring Break is over. So sad, so sad. I really enjoyed being home for the week, which makes it all the harder to want to go back to work tomorrow morning. I can tell, it is gonna be a rough day.

We seemed to pack a lot into our week, without really having a vacation. We were able to go to Waco, I was able to go to Houston, and Joe managed to check out some of the free SXSW stuff while I was gone. We also had a bona fide crawfish boil at his aunt’s house on Friday night. I am talking newspaper on the table, shrimp, crawfish, potatoes, and the works…just like the Boiling Pot. It was a lot of fun.

The downside, Jude has been sick almost all week. Other than a stomach virus back in the fall, this is the only time he has been sick. He ended up with a fever on Friday night, right as Spring Break was beginning. We managed to get that under control, but he has a runny nose that went from sniffles to disgusting. He slept horribly at my mom’s house. I am talking wailing, screaming, crying…the works…both nights. It was terrible. But, I can’t blame the poor guy. He was sleeping in a pack in play in an unfamiliar environment and he didn’t feel well. We hadn’t had a night like that since the first time we stayed at my mom’s house.

Then he had a horrible night of sleep at our house on Tuesday. He must have been overtired because he cried off and on for two hours. Plus, his stuffy nose kept waking him up when he would drift off. Joe and I tried everything and he finally fell asleep in the rocking chair after two hours and me and Joe taking turns trying to calm him.

The second day in Houston he was so grouchy. He just didn’t seem like himself. Everything was frustrating him and nothing was making him happy. When we got home, he was so happy to see Joe. He was smiling so big and playing with his toys. I realized, he hadn’t seemed like himself all day until he was more like himself at home. I wasn’t sure if it was all the traveling or if he wasn’t feeling well, so we took him to the doctor on Friday. Sure enough, a little bit of fluid was starting to accumulate in his ear.  So, he’s on antibiotics and he seems like he feels much better.

I felt like it was a good Spring Break. I wish that I had more time to catch up with friends. But, I am so glad we got to spend time with family. The year seems to be going by so quickly.

I feel better, Mommy!
I feel better, Mommy!
One thought on “The Party is Over

Leave a Reply

