Movin’, Shakin’, & Bakin’

Movin’, Shakin’, & Bakin’

Something has gotten into me over the past week. Last Sunday I woke up and cleaned the house, I mean, REALLY CLEANED the house. Sweeping, mopping, vacuuming, the whole nine yards. This Friday, was an inservice day and student holiday at work. So, I reorganized all the cabinets in my classroom and cleaned my office, as well. I still have a really strong urge to re-do our pantry and clean out the junk drawers at home.

I’ve also been baking a lot since last week, as well. I get the Martha Stewart food magazine, Everyday Food (I think that is what it is called) and she has a recipe for pizza dough that you make from scratch and freeze individual size pizzas. Then, when you want to make pizza, you just take the shell out, add the toppings, and bake from frozen. It’s great, because now we have pizza crust without having to buy Boboli or some other brand, and it’s pretty good.

dough

But, I have also been baking little cakes. I have this great cookbook called Small Batch Bakes. They are reduced recipes to make small servings, for example, two mini cakes or just 8-10 cookies. It’s great when you get a sweet tooth and you can have a freshly baked cake without out all the leftovers. So, Joe and I have had little cakes the past few days.

medium_small-batch-baking

Of course, I have also been inspired to bake after discovering a blog called Bakerella. Tonight I made her recipe for cake balls (which are like bon-bons or truffles, but with cake on the iside) and I am hoping to make her cupcake pops, which are basically the cake balls on lollipop sticks. I even got a new book today, called Hello, Cupcake. I am dreaming off all the delicious new creations I am going to make. Well, that is until I run out of energy.

tack_cupcake

2 thoughts on “Movin’, Shakin’, & Bakin’

  1. You should tell Wheat…that girl can bake too. Y’all would have a blast…I could help y’all eat it…that would be my contribution…that or buy the ingredients and then help y’all eat the final product! ;o) LOL

  2. OMG, I love Bakerella! I made cupcake balls & pops for Christmas. I tried making the reindeer and santa hats but failed miserably! They were so time consuimg though so by the time I was done, I was completely irritated! 🙂
    I think the only way I’ll let you in my door on Sunday is if you bring some of those small batch cakes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

