The Dreaded “C” Word

The Dreaded “C” Word

Not that “c-word” gutterbrain! This c-word: COUPONS! I am obsessed with coupons and saving money on our grocery shopping. It seems like through different phases of my life, in the last few year, I have found one topic to obsess about and to join internet forums to continually talk and post about that obsession. First, it was wedding planning. Then it was crafting and buying a house. After that, it was conception and pregnancy. Well, now that I have had the baby, all I have left is coupons.

I am particularly obsessed with CVS and their extra care bucks (if you buy certain products, you get CVS “money” to use in the store). Apparently, if you can master the system, you can buy stuff at CVS while spending very little out of pocket. I think this has struck such a nerve with me because CVS is literally 2 miles (at the most) from my house and is the only place I can go by myself. I tell Joe, “Going to CVS. Watch the baby.” Then I can get out of the house for 15-20 minutes and not feel guilty and be home in time to feed my little guy. You can’t blame me folks, there aren’t a lot of retail options out here, so CVS works.

But, I’ve also gotten interested in internet printable coupons. Back in my college days, I was always signing up for free stuff on the internet. I know it’s sad, but I liked getting mail. I still love free stuff (and mail) but now I am always on the hunt for coupons. I even got me a coupon organizer. So, I guess I will continue to feed my obsession until I have a new one to replace it.

3 thoughts on “The Dreaded “C” Word

  1. Welcome to the coupon club! I got turned onto to CVS shortly after Cameron was born too… for many of the same reasons. I haven’t been as in to it lately, but I do clip coupons from the paper and download them. You know it’s getting good when the cashier says, “You have some GOOD coupons!” 🙂

  2. Coupons are the bomb-diggety! Walgreens or Rite-Aid are the CVSes of the Pacific Northwest. I can relate about proximity to home in determining if you can or want to venture out to run errands or get a ‘great deal.’

  3. I LOOOOVE Walgreens, it’s not CVS but I love that it is up the street in BTX and I am able to escape as you put it. Walmart is great to go but there is nothing like a corner drugstore! I think the merchandise for some reason looks better! 🙂

Leave a Reply

