I’m It!

I’m It!

I got tagged by my friend, and fellow blogger, Erica, to list 6 random things about myself. Here it goes:

  1. I used to be this junior environmental crusader in late elementary school. Target published this kids newsletter about how to save the whales and the earth that I was really in to. I made my mom buy me recycled paper (they hadn’t quite perfected the process, so it was grey). So, I wrote a letter to Pres. George H. Bush about how important the environment was and how the US should be working to improve the environment. I got a letter back from him, including a picture. But, even in the 4th grade, I realized that it was a form letter and that he never read my letter because there was nothing in his response about the environment. So, I put his letter and picture in my closet. I was really disappointed that he didn’t care.
  2. I have some unnatural desire to eat candies with multiple colors (M&Ms, Starbursts, Skittles, Gummi Bears, & fruit snacks) in a pattern. I always start with the colors/flavors I like the least and end with my favorites.  But, like Starbursts, that are patterned in the packaging, I will do my eating pattern for every four pieces of candy vs. the whole bag.
  3. I am very opposed and somewhat disturbed by organ music. I don’t mean church organ music, think more like electric rock organ ala The Doors. Joe knows that if a Doors song comes on the radio that we have to change it. It really creeps me out.
  4. The smell of my dorm at UT used to make me sick to my stomach. It wasn’t that it smelled bad, but there was a particular smell made by the air conditioners that I must have associated with negative feelings…like being homesick. I went back in the dorm on the day of my graduation, after having not lived there for over 2 years, and the feeling instantly came back to me.
  5. I have one t-shirt that I have owned for over 24 years. My cousin Robert, who was in the navy, got it for me when I was 3. It was huge then and I used to wear it to sleep in. Now it fits like a small girly t-shirt (well, when I say fit, I mean pre-pregnancy). I used to wear it all the time. Now I just keep it for wearing around the house, since it’s pretty threadbare.
  6. Joe didn’t realize that I was not Hispanic until we had a few dates. We were talking about something and it must have come up and Joe was like, “Wait….you’re not Mexican!” I told him that I wasn’t and his reply was “Oh, I thought you were.” Apparently it worked out okay in the end ; )

So, that’s it. There is my random list of six things. It’s not really that interesting, but we know that all my brain power is being diverted somewhere else.

3 thoughts on “I’m It!

  1. Oh my gosh… I HATED the dorm smell too. I remember I’d get sick everytime we came back from a break. I swear that dorm made me ill. But, we’ll always have the Humpty Dance. 🙂

  2. I think the dorm made you and my second roommate sick after the breaks. It never made me sick, but that smell messed with me psychologically. I always associated it with feeling sad and lonely. Probably because I lived in that room a few days by myself before you moved in.

  3. What? All this time I was speaking Spanish to you and you seemed to understand…he-he, JK. You became “one of us” by osmosis I think. ;o) Si se puede!

Leave a Reply

