Trees & Flexibility

Trees & Flexibility

So, I’ve sorta decided that if I ever get another tattoo that I want a tree. I was thinking about how they represent wisdom, strength, and being grounded. But, they also make me think about something that was said in the Disney movie, Mulan, that the tree that bends in the wind doesn’t break.

You don’t think of trees as being flexible, but it makes sense. A storm will destroy the things that are most rigid, but things will be lost if their aren’t grounded either. I came across this great quote the other day, but I can’t remember where I read it. If I could find it again, I would give credit to the person who said it. It said ” The children that the world sets out to destroy will most likely be the ones who save the world.” It makes me think of the kids that I work with, and if I can help them “sway with the wind” that maybe in the end they will be stronger, and able right some of the wrongs in the world.

3 thoughts on “Trees & Flexibility

  1. You should get a bonzai tree tattoo. (Disregard the comment above…friggin’ backspace key messed up my comment as I was typing. Bleh. ;o( Peace out!

  2. i think that a tree is a wonderful representation for you. i love the way that you spoke about it and you are, with hope, making the lives of the children you work with more bendy in order that they might survive the storm and stay steady but bent for the future. so in all actuality you are also making the world a better place by offering hope to their little lives.

Leave a Reply

