Going green

Going green

Organic food

So, I’ve been contemplating for a while about having organic fruits and veggies delivered to the house. Someone I worked with told me that she got the “organic box” delivered to her house and she split the price with her roommates. She used the veggies to cook for the week and snack. So, before you say “Christy, you’ve gone all hippy on us,” I want to assure you that I am still have my old hippy-resistant ways.

I had a few concerns: they didn’t deliver out the in the boonies, the food would go bad, and it would be much more expensive than what I normally spend on produce (although it’s understood that because it is organic, it is going to be slightly more expensive).  So, I’ve kinda put the idea on the back burner, because I didn’t know if it would be the right financial adventure to take at the time.

Well, recently I came across the website for Greenling Organic Delivery. They are a local business that does home delivery of organic produce as well as some other food staples. After reading through all their information, I’ve decided that I want to give them a try based on these reasons:

  1. They deliver to our zipcode! Who the heck delivers anything out here? Very impressed!

  2. The produce is either from local farms and what isn’t local is organically certified. I think that is pretty cool. Isn’t that the new movement…buy local?

  3. I can create my own order for $25 minimum. So instead of getting a pre-selected box of olives, mushrooms, and other foods I don’t eat, I can ensure we get the veggies that we do use.

  4. The deliver it in a plastic tub and you can choose what time of day it is delivered.

  5. They will replace any produce that goes bad due to sitting outside on the delivery day.

  6. You can cancel at anytime.

  7. You can set up your schedule for weekly or bi-weekly.

So, I am going to try the bi-weekly. I don’t think we will loose that much money trying it out, plus we can always cancel if it is not working for us. I think it’s worth giving a try. We’ve been wanting to eat healthier and with the bi-weekly delivery I can buy regular produce every other week and compare. So, I’ll keep you updated about how it goes.

3 thoughts on “Going green

  1. That’s so funny that you posted about this because we’re about to do the same exact thing! I’ve been considering Greenling for months. We figured we’d try it out especially now that the little dude is eating more & more table food. We’ll see how it goes as well.

  2. Organic is good. We are tree huggers up here…probably why I feel so at home with Whole Foods and what not…Nana called me that and I wasn’t offended, believe it or not! LOL! Laterz! Tia S.

Leave a Reply

